Proposed HESFA Calculations


In 2007, the Missouri legislature passed the Higher Education Student Funding Act (HESFA). The act provides for the Coordinating Board for Higher Education and the commissioner of higher education to have a role in reviewing the tuition setting process.

Tuition is set by the governing board of each Missouri public institution of higher education. HESFA sets a limit on the amount by which an institution may increase its tuition based on the increase in the rate of inflation (CPI) and that institution’s existing tuition in relation to average tuition as defined by HESFA. Institutions that increase tuition above those limits must either return a portion of their state appropriations to the state or must ask the commissioner to waive the financial penalty in whole or in part.

In February 2018, Commissioner of Higher Education Zora Mulligan advised public institutions of the CPI permissible tuition and fee increases for the 2018-19 academic year, as provided by HESFA.


Correspondence regarding tuition received from individual institutions regarding HESFA matters are posted on this web page.


Harris-Stowe State University

Lincoln University

Missouri Southern State University

Missouri State University

Missouri Western State University

Northwest Missouri State University

Southeast Missouri State University

State Technical College of Missouri

Truman State University

University of Central Missouri

University of Missouri System


2018 Penalty Waiver Requests