This provision of HB 1042 focuses on out-of-state public institutions that offer distance education in Missouri. In order to ensure Title IV eligibility, institutions of higher education must have legal authority to operate in all the states where they are providing instruction. Institutions must have documented compliance with laws in all states where they offer distance or correspondence education.
To help address this need, fees will need to be charged to cover the costs of reviewing and assuring the quality of programs offered by out-of-state public institutions.
Recent changes have been made to our distance education policy for out-of-state public institutions. All out-of-state public institutions currently authorized, or any out-of-state public institutions that wish to become authorized in Missouri must complete the steps below to obtain current authorization. The rules and regulations for the certification of Missouri Out-of-State Public Institutions are based on the authority granted to the Missouri Department of Higher Education in section 173.005 of the Revised Missouri Statutes. The administrative rules for Chapter 10, 6 CSR 10-10.010, Out-of-State Public Institutions, was revised in October of 2013 to allow the MDHE to charge and collect fees from out-of-state public institutions to cover the costs of reviewing and assuring the quality of programs offered by out-of-state public institutions. This code of state regulation 6 CSR 10.10.010 can be found on the Missouri Secretary of State’s website at http://sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/6csr/6c10-10.pdf
Instructions are provided below to become certified in Missouri for the purposes of providing distance education to Missouri residents, student recruitment, and other related activities such as clinical or practicum experience. This certification does not authorize the operation of an instructional facility (“brick-and-mortar” presence) or the delivery of instructional courses or programs in Missouri. Please contact us for a different application process if you are requesting a physical presence in the state.
For an out-of-state public institution to be in compliance with our new regulations, we require the following:
- The MDHE requires out-of-state public institutions offering postsecondary education to students in Missouri to affirm, in writing, that the institution is accredited by a regional accrediting body and will adhere to the CBHE Principles of Good Practice for Distance Learning and Web-Based Courses as found in the CBHE Policy for the Review of Academic Program Proposals. This policy can be located at www.dhe.mo.gov/files/policies/policyforreview.pdf. This letter must be on official institutional letterhead and signed by the institution’s chief academic officer, provost, or other approved official.
- The application must be completed and returned. (Please contact MDHE for an application).
- A check for $500.00 made out to the Missouri Department of Higher Education-Public Distance Education must be enclosed with the letter and application. The $500.00 will allow the institutions to offer distance education and other approved activities for the period of one year, which begins on the date of the MDHE letter of authorization.
These items should be mailed to the following address:
Missouri Department of Higher Education
Attention: Distance Education Certification/Amy Werner
205 Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Please note this statement is only applicable to out-of-state public institutions.All other institutions should refer to Proprietary School Certification for information on offering distance education within the state. Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions at (573) 522-1377 or by email at Amy.Werner@dhe.mo.gov.
Amy Werner, Distance Education Coordinator