Missouri is home to a diverse higher education system that includes 13 public four-year universities, 12 public two-year colleges, one public two-year technical college, 25 independent colleges, and more than 150 proprietary and private career schools.

For more information about Missouri higher education institutions, including proprietary and career schools, use the MDHE College and Degree Search.

Missouri public four-year universities

Harris-Stowe State University
Lincoln University
Missouri Southern State University
Missouri State University
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Missouri Western State University
Northwest Missouri State University
Southeast Missouri State University
Truman State University
University of Central Missouri
University of Missouri – Columbia
University of Missouri – Kansas City
University of Missouri – St. Louis

Missouri public two-year colleges

Crowder College
East Central College
Jefferson College
Metropolitan Community College
Mineral Area College
Missouri State University – West Plains
Moberly Area Community College
North Central Missouri College
Ozarks Technical Community College
St. Charles Community College
St. Louis Community College
State Fair Community College
State Technical College of Missouri
Three Rivers Community College

Missouri independent four-year colleges and universities

Avila University
Central Methodist University
College of the Ozarks
Columbia College
Cottey College
Culver-Stockton College
Drury University
Evangel University
Fontbonne University
Hannibal-LaGrange University
Lindenwood University
Maryville University
Missouri Baptist University
Missouri Valley College
Park University
Rockhurst University
Saint Louis University
Southwest Baptist University
Stephens College
Washington University
Webster University
Westminster College
William Jewell College
William Woods University

Independent two-year college

Wentworth Military Academy and College