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AUTHORITY: section 277,160, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed June
15, 1990, effective Dec, 31, 1990. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed June 12,
2009.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500}
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enfi-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statemient in
support of or in oppesition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Departinent of Agriculture, Taylor H. Woods, D. V.M., State
Veterinarian, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102, by facsimile at
(573} 751-6919, or via email at Tavlor.Woods@mda.mo.gov.
Conments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication
of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is sched-
iled.

Title 6—DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION
Division 10—Commissioner of Higher Education
Chapter 3—Higher Educational Residency Determination

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

6 CSR 10-3.010 Determination of Student Residency. The com-
niissioner of higher education: is amending ail sections, adding new
sections (3) and €10), and renumbering as needed.

PURPOSE: This amendment distinguishes between the residency
requirements pertaining 1o in-state tuition eligibility and state student
Jinancial aid eligibility. It also adds requirements addressing loss of
residency.

(1) Definitions.

(A) Academic year is the period from July 1 of any year
through June 30 of the following year.

ffAH(B) Adult student shall mean any student having attained the
age of twenty-one (21) years.

(C) Continuous enrollment shall mean enrollment in a
Missouri institution in at least one (1) credit or clock hour or the
equivalent in at least one (1) semester, excluding summer terms,
each academic year.

[(BH(D) Coordinating board or board shall mean the Coordinating
Board for Higher Education created by section 173,005, RSMo.

(E) Dependent student shall mean, for the purposes of finan-
cial aid eligibility, any student who is not an independent student.

[{CH(F) Domicile shall mean presence within a state with an
intent of making the state a permanent home for an indefinite peri-
od.

[DIHG) Emancipated minor student shalli mean any student not
having attained the age of twenty-one {21) years and who is not under
the care, custody, and support of an individual or individuals having
legal custody.

(If) Independent student shall mean, for the purposes of finan-
cial aid eligibility, any student who qualifies as an independent
student under section 480(d) of the Higher Education Act of
1965, as amended.

[{E}XI) Residency or resident status shall mean that status which
is achieved when sufficient proof of a domicile within a state is pre-
sented.

[{F}]I(T) Unemancipated minor student shall mean any student not
having attained the age of twenty-one (21) years, and under the care,
custody, or support of the individual or individuals having legal cus-
tody of the students.

(2) Adult Students. For purposes of the determination of fee
charges, //f] if an adult student, not a resident, shall present suffi-
cient proof of the establishment of a domicile within the state of
Missouri, this student shall be granted the resident status at the first
enroliment following the establishment of the domicile.

(3) Independent Student. For purposes of financial aid eligibility,
if an independent student, not a resident, shall present sufficient
proof of the establishment of a domicile within the state of
Missouri, this student shall be granted restdent status at the first
enrollment following the establishment of the domicile.

[(3/1(d) Unemancipated Minor Students,

(A} The domicile of an unemancipated minor or a dependent stu-
dent is presimed to be that of the individual or individuals having
legal custody of the student.

(B) If those having legal custody of the unemancipated minor or
dependent student establish a Missouri domicile, that student shall
be granted resident status at the first enrolment following the estab-
lishment of the Missouri domicile,

(C) Once unemancipated minor or dependent students have estab-
lished resident status under this rule, they may continue to qualify for
resident status so long as they remain continuously enroHed, exclud-
ing summer terms, in a Missouri institation of higher education, even
if the individual or individuals having legal custody of the uneman-
cipated minor or dependent students cease to hold Missouri resident
status or the students become adult or independent students.

[{4}}(5) Emancipated Minror Students.

(A) The domicile of emancipated minor students shall be deter-
mined as if they were adults,

(B) A minor may become emancipated through marriage, formal
court action, abandonment, or positive action of alienation on the
part of the minor. In all instances, alienation from care, custody, and
support shall be complete and the burden of satisfactory proof of
emancipation shall be that of the minor student.

(C) Mere absence of the student from the domicile of the individ-
ual or individuals having legal custody of that minor student shall not
constifute proof of emancipation.

(D) In no instance shall a minor student be eligible for emancipa-
tion when that student is taken as an income tax deduction by a sec-
ond party other than a spouse.

[15){6) Members of the Military Forces.

(A) Students shall neither gain nor fose resident status solely as a
consequence of military service.

{B) For the purposes of student resident status, military personnel,
when stationed within the state of Missouri pursuant to military
orders, their spouses, and unemancipated minor or dependent chil-
dren shall be regarded as holding Missouri resident status. However,
a member of the military forces who is specifically assigned, under
orders, to attend a Missouri institution of higher education as a full-
time student, shall be classified, along with his/her spouse and une-
mancipated minor or dependent children, as if they had no connec-
tion with the military forces.

f(6}](7) Noncitizens of the United States.

(A) Students who are not citizens of the United States must pos-
sess resident alien status, as determined by federal authority, prior to
consideration for resident status.

(B) Aliens present within Missouri as representatives of a foreign
government or at the convenience of the United States or Missouri
governments and holding G visas shall be entitled to resident status,
except for those who are government-funded students.

(C) Aliens and their dependents holding A or L visas may be
granted resident status if determined to be individually designated as
representatives of their governmenis and whose education is not gov-
ernment-funded.
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f{71(8) Public Community fJunior] College Residency.

(A) Missouri public community funjor] college districts have
legal geographic boundaries within the state and only residents of
each district are eligible for the in-district student fee charge.

(B) For purposes of establishing district residency, a Missouri res-
ident who resides out-of-district shall meet the same criteria as set
forth in this rule for establishing Missouri residency by a person not
a resident of Missouri. However, Missouri residency is the only res-
idency requirement germane to student eligibility for financial aid
programs restricted to Missouri residents.

{(8)](9) [Factual Criteria in] Determination of Resident Status.

{A) Attendance at an institution of higher education shall be
regarded as a temporary presence within the state of Missouri; there-
fore, a student neither gains nor loses resident status solely by such
attendance.

(B} The burden of proof of establishing eligibility for Missouri res-
ident status shall rest with the student.

(C) In determining resident status for the state of Missouri, either
of the following shall be sufficient proof of domicile of a person and
his/her fdependents] unemancipated minor or dependent chil-
dren within the state of Missouri:

1. Presence within the state of Missouri for a minimum of the
twelve (12) immediate past, consecutive months coupled with proof
of intent to make the state of Missouri a permanent home for an
indefinite period; or

2. Presence within the state of Missouri for the primary purpose
of retirement, full-time employment, full-time professional practice,
or to conduct a business full-time.

(DD} In determining whether /a/ an adult, emancipated minor, or
independent student, or the individual or individuals having legal
custody of an unemancipated miner or dependent student, holds
an intent to make the state of Missouri a permanent home for an
indefinite period, the following factors, although not conclusive,
shall be given heavy weight: continuous presence in the state of
Missouri during those periods not enrolled as a student; presence
within the state of Missouri upon marriage to a Missouri resident and
the maintenance of a common domicile with the resident spouse;
substantial reliance on sources within the state of Missouri for finan-
cial support; former domicile within the state and maintenance of
significant connections while absent; and ownership of a home with-
in the state of Missouri. The twelve (12)-month period of presence
within the state, as stipulated in paragraph {{8//(9)(C)!. of this rule,
in and of itself, does not establish resident status in the absence of
the required proof of intent,

{E) The following factors shall be given less weight than those in
subsection {{8//(9)(D) and include: Voting or registration for voting;
part-time employment; lease of living quarters; a statement of inten-
tion to establish a domicile in Missouri; automohile registration or
operator’s license obtained in Missouri; and payment of income, per-
sonal, and property taxes in Missouri. The factors listed in this sub-
section have applicability only as they support the intent to make the
state of Missouri a permanent heme for an indefinite period.

(F) Resident status is one criterion of eligibility for student grant
awards administered by the coordinating board, There are additionat
criteria of eligibility and the establishment of resident status by a stu-
dent does not guarantee that the student will be awarded a student
grant.

(G) The waiver fof] or forgiveness of a nonresident student fee, in
full or in part, shall have no bearing on the residency stats of a stu-
dent and shall not be a basis for classification of a nonresident stu-
dent as a resident.

(H) For those nonresidents who pay Missouri income tax, the non-
resident student shall receive a credit against the nonresident student
fee in an amount equal to the actual Missouri income tax paid for the
previous calendar year except that the remaining fee obligation shall
not be less than the amount of the resident student fee.
Unemancipated minor students are eligible by reason of payment of

Missouri income tax by the nonresident individual or individuals
having legal custody of students. Students entering in January shall
be regarded as entering in the immediately preceding fall for pur-
poses of determining previous calendar year, For studenis entering
after January, previous year means inumediate past catendar year.

(10) Determination of Loss of Residency Status.

(A) An adult, emancipated minor, or independent student will
lose Missouri residency status twelve (12) consecutive months
after establishing a domicile outside of the state of Missouri,
unless the absence is for the purpose of attending an institution
of higher education in another state and the student remains in
compliance with subsections (9)(C)-(E) of this administrative
rule,

(B) An unemancipated minor or dependent student will lose
Missouri residency status:

1. Twelve (12) consecutive months after the individual or
individuals having legal custody of that student establish a domi-
cile outside of the state of Missouri, except as provided for in sub-
section (4)(C) of this administrative rule; or

2. If the individual or individuals having legal custody of
that student establish a domicile outside of the state of Missouri
more than twelve (12) consecutive months before the student’s
first envollment at a postsecondary education institution.

[{8)}{11) Administrative and Compliance.

(A) Each institation shalt establish procedures for the determina-
tion of institutional decisions in accordance with this rule. These pro-
cedures shall adhere to the guidelines set forth in this rule and to the
concepts of procedural fairness and reasonableness to the students, to
the institution and to the taxpaying public of the state, The proce-
dures shall provide for at least two (2) levels of institutional appeal
review and the last stage of the procedure shall be considered final
by the institution.

{B} Compliance with the guidelines as set forth in this rule is
required of institutions of higher education in order to be determined
as eligible institutions under student financial aid programs adminis-
tered by the coordinating board and for which student eligibility is
restricted to residents. finstitutions must be in compliance by
August 1, 1986 and earlier comnpliance is encouraged.] For
financial aid purposes, institutions may exercise professional
Jjudgment in residency determinations for documented exception-
al circumstances,

(C) On complaint of any student or other indication of possible
institutional noncompliance with the guidelines set forth in this rule,
the coordinating board may review the eligibility of an institation for
student financial aid programs, or any other funds adeninistered by
the board and may take such actions or make such recommendations
relating to the institation’s eligibility as the coordinating board deems
appropriate. These actions shall be consistent with any other admin-
istrative rules the board has established pertaining to the review of
institutional eligibility.

AUTHORITY: sections 173.005.2(5), RSMo Supp. 2008 [and
173.140, RSMo 1986]. Original rule filed Aug. 7, 1978, effec-
tive March 17, 1979. Rescinded and readopted: Filed July 3, 1985,
effective Aug. 1, 1986, Amended: Filed Dec. 16, 1988, effective
Aprit 1, 1989, Amended: Filed June 15, 2009,

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred doliars {3500}
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed arnendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the




