

Tab 9 2021 Commissioner's Advisory Group Members & Meeting Dates

Coordinating Board for Higher Education December 9, 2020

BACKGROUND

In January 2018, Commissioner Zora Mulligan established a Commissioner's Advisory Group to provide advice from and develop relationships among public college and university CEOs. The group meets on a quarterly basis at "off" intervals from Coordinating Board meetings and includes representatives from community colleges, Council on Public Higher Education members, and the University of Missouri System.

CURRENT STATUS

The commissioner has identified new members to cycle onto the advisory group. Membership is outlined in Attachment A.

NEXT STEPS

The Commissioner's Office will send advisory group members save-the-date appointments to hold meeting times on group members' calendars. The group will hold its first meeting on January 27, 2021.

RECOMMENDATION

This is an information item only.

ATTACHMENT

- A. 2021 Commissioner's Advisory Group Membership
- B. 2021 Commissioner's Advisory Group Meeting Schedule and Topics

Coordinating Board for Higher Education December 9, 2020

Tab 9 Attachment A Commissioner's Advisory Group Membership

Guidelines

Each sector group will have a total of six representatives. Terms are two years. Each sector group will recommend three new members by December 1 each year. New members' terms will begin at the group's January meeting. There will be no standing members. The group will include CEOs only, including each sector group's CEO. No substitutes are permitted at meetings. Starting in 2021, State Technical College of Missouri is included in COPHE. The University of Missouri will have a member at all times and can be represented by the system president or a campus chancellor.

СОРНЕ	MCCA	University of Missouri
2021		
 Roger Best Clif Smart Shawn Strong Dean Van Galen Carlos Vargas Jerald Woolfolk Paul Wagner 	 Kim Beatty Glenn Coltharp Joe Gilgour Lenny Klaver Dena McCaffrey Wes Payne Brian Millner 	Kristin Sobolik
Public Universities	Community Colleges	State Tech
2020		
Roger Best John Jasinski Clif Smart Kristin Sobolik Sue Thomas Gerald Woolfolk <i>Paul Wagner</i>	Kim Beatty Joanna Anderson Joe Gilgour Barbara Kavalier Lenny Klaver Jeff Lashley <i>Brian Millner</i>	Shawn Strong
2019		
Mun Choi Tom George Kristin Sobolik John Jasinski Alan Marble Sue Thomas Dwaun Warmack Dwyane Smith <i>Paul Wagner</i>	Joanna Anderson Jon Bauer Hal Higdon Barbara Kavalier Jeff Lashley Jeff Pittman <i>Brian Millner</i>	Shawn Strong
2018		
Mun Choi John Jasinski Clif Smart Carlos Vargas Bob Vartabedian Dwaun Warmack <i>Paul Wagner</i>	Joanna Anderson Jon Bauer Kim Beatty Ray Cummiskey Hal Higdon Steve Kurtz Jeff Pittman <i>Brian Millner</i>	Shawn Strong

Membership History



Potential Meeting Topics

(in addition to topics that arise closer to the meeting date)

Winter

Welcome new members Legislative session Executive budget recs DHEWD goals for current calendar year

Spring

Legislative session Budget First conversation about upcoming budget rec cycle DHEWD goals for current calendar year and planning for next year's goals

Summer

Implementation of new laws Legislative agenda for next session

DHEWD goals for current calendar year and planning for next year's goals

Fall

Plan to identify new members DHEWD goals for current calendar year and planning for next year's goals