

Tab 21 Appointments to Proprietary School Advisory Committee

Coordinating Board for Higher Education December 8, 2021

BACKGROUND

The Proprietary School Advisory Committee (PSAC) is a statutorily established committee consisting of seven members serving three-year terms appointed by the Commissioner of Higher Education (Section 173.614, RSMo). The intent of this agenda item is to inform the Coordinating Board of recent appointments to the committee.

The statute defines the general eligibility requirements for committee members as individual proprietors, general partners of a partnership, or managerial employees of proprietary schools. In addition, the statute requires that at least three members of the committee represent degree-granting schools, at least one of which must grant a baccalaureate or higher level degree. The statute charges the committee with the following responsibilities:

- Advise the board in the administration of the proprietary school certification program
- Make recommendations with respect to rules and regulations establishing minimum standards of operation
- Advise the board with respect to grievances and complaints

CURRENT STATUS

The Commissioner of Higher Education recently appointed four individuals to fill vacant terms on the PSAC. Those appointments were for Ms. Tori Graham (Southern Missouri Truck Driving School), Ms. Cindy Marten (St. Louis College of Health Careers), Mr. Robin O'Connell (Wellspring School of Allied Health), and Mr. Ted Parker (Centriq Training). The PSAC membership list, effective January 1, 2022, is provided in the Attachment.

The appointments maintain compliance with the statutory requirements regarding representation on the committee by institutional type and ensure diverse representation consistent with Coordinating Board policy.

RECOMMENDATION

This an information item only.

ATTACHMENT

PSAC Membership Roster Effective January 2022

Tab 21 Attachment PSAC Membership Roster Effective January 2022

PROPRIETARY SCHOOL ADVISORY COMMITTEE Membership Roster - January 2022

Mr. Eric Adams, President Grand River Welding Institute 103 N. Livingston Street Brookfield, MO 64628 (Term Expires 12/31/2023)

Mr. Ramsey Atieh, President
American Business & Technology University ++
1018 West St. Maartens Dr.
St. Joseph, MO 64056
(Term Expires 12/31/2023)

Ms. Tori Graham, President/Owner Southern Missouri Truck Driving School, Inc. 451 A Plaza Circle Malden, MO 63863 (Term expires 12/31/2024)

Ms. Cynthia Marten, Dean of Education* St. Louis College of Health Careers ++ 1297 N. Highway Drive Fenton, MO 63026 (Term expires 12/31/2022)

Mr. Robin O'Connell, Vice President of Operations Wellspring School of Allied Health 9140 Ward Parkway, Suite 100 Kansas City, MO 64114 (Term expires 12/31/2024)

Ted Parker, Vice President of Sales and Marketing*
Centriq Training
1740 W. 92nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64114
(Term expires 12/31/2022)

Ms. Emily Witt, Chief Administrative Officer St. Louis School of Phlebotomy 3738 Chouteau Avenue, Suite 100 St. Louis, MO 63110 (Term expires 12/31/2023)

⁺ Accredited

⁺⁺ Accredited, baccalaureate degree-granting

^{*} Can be reappointed at the expiration of the term